Liquid fuel propulsion and material issues

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Binuwara

Reaction score
Hello! Everyone

This is my first time posting to a rocketry forum and I'm glad I found a forum to post a question about this subject.

So a while ago I found this book named as How to design and build small liquid fuel rocket engine. After I read this book I had this obsession to build a liquid fuel rocket engine. So after reading again (thoroughly) I found that the metal copper which is used to demonstrate the build in the book is hard to get hold of in my country. So I decided to use steel but thats the point I got these problems,

Reliability
Heat transfer capabilities
Working stress

After I researched about it I found that there is no resource for get this knowledge so can you guys help me out?

I just want know can I replace copper with steel or another commercially available metal that is good and at a relatively low pricepoint

Hi Binuwara, Welcome to rocketry! Liquid fuel engines can be pretty complex and dangerous, so we don't discuss them in an open forum. This forum mostly focuses on solid fueled rockets. That said, feel free to hang around to learn from some of the experts here.

There is a certification process that is administered by the National Association of Rocketry or the Tripoli Rocketry Association. Once you get certified as a level 1 flier, the admins here will allow you access to the research section, so you can discuss more advanced topics like motor making.

Many countries have universities with aerospace engineering departments and some specialize in rocketry. I do not know your country. You might try contacting a university and inquire there.