Laminating Epoxy didn't cure?!?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JSW

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
I used this Specialty Resin & Chemical Epox-It 80 Clear Epoxy Resin from Amazon to coat the balsa nosecones/boat-tail of my ASP 29mm WAC Corporal.

Brand new bottles. I've never used this brand/kind of epoxy before. It's supposed to cure in 40 hours. After almost 2 weeks in a hot garage it is still tacky. I'm not sure why? I believe I followed the directions and used equal parts of the epoxy components. I believe I mixed thoroughly. I'd think the heat of the garage should be good for curing.

Regardless of why this happened,... now I need to fix.

Any recommendations on how to correct this? Not sure if it's possible to sand it off? Could I cover with a new epoxy coat (using a different epoxy)?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Mixing cup had the same tacky result. I mixed pretty good - just as good as I do with other epoxies - but as a test I can repeat and put some dye in it,... see if it still has a cure problem.

I'll try the alcohol wipe.

Thanks!

Acetone (nail polish remover) will also clean up epoxy. If the alcohol doesn't work, you can get nail polish remover at a dollar store or Walgreens/CVS/Duane Reade.

I've seen a tacky surface on some epoxies after they are cured. I've wet sanded with 400 grit a few times to remove that outer layer.

If you find that it it more than just the outer layer that is soft, you will probably need to sand it off and start over. I'm not sure I'd try applying additional epoxy over the old stuff.

i used alcohol, nail polish remover, and goof-off,... for the most part it came off with some scrubbing. i'm going to let it dry and sand. then test the laminating epoxy and decide what to do next.