How to go about firing some motors into the ground?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bill S

Reaction score
I've got some motors that I was asked to fire into the ground and report back the CATO failure rate (or not). I've never done something like this before. I don't have any launch equipment, nor a good place to do it, other than club launches. I might be able to convince one club to let me give it a go, but what is the best and safest way to do it?

Go to Lowes/HomeDepot/etc and get a large clay flower pot and a 50 pound bag of play sand. The pot should be big enough to hold all the sand and still have several inches before it gets to the top. Go out to the middle of your backyard/field/etc and fill the pot with sand. Place the motor in the sand most of the way, nozzle up. Connect your launch controler and go.

Obviously this setup is limited to smaller motors. I would feel safe with 24mm and smaller. 29mm if it is a smaller 29mm. If you're wanting to do it with HPR motors, you'd need a different set up.

I have seen test firing of research motors by placing motor in hole in ground, nozzle facing up. Motor should be snug and buried at least 1/2 way or more.

A quick and simple way of making a hole in the ground - find a dowel, broom handle or piece of pipe or stick slightly larger in diameter than your rocket casing. Locate some soft soil, your flower garden will do. Push or pound your stick into the soil, just less than the length of the motor. Remove stick. Proceed as instructed above, nozzle pointing up. The ejection charge will automatically remove the spent rocket motor casing at the end of the test.