First Scratch Build

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

No Laughing Man

Reaction score
Hey, I am new to this forum and have found it as a great resource. :D I am pretty new to rocketry also. I have built a few kits before and have launched a couple times. I started this scratch build that is designed to be a egg/cargo lifter with an AT RMS 29mm 40-120 motor casing. I hope to eventualy fly it with a G motor.

I have only done work so far on the payload section. It is a BT-70 body tube and has two layers of 1.5 oz. fiberglass applied. I am considering adding two more layers. The same will be done to the sustainer over the next few days.
rkt_RTS_pre_disassembled.jpg

I have also cut out the fins. I put the original design into RockSim and used it to find a fin design that would provide sufficient stability. I plan to also cover them with two layers of 1.5 oz. fiberglass. I will downsize this photo tomorrow.
rkt_RTS_pre_fin_1_small.jpg

I have a few questions though. Would it be worth it to add another two layers of fiberglass, especially if I plan to launch this on a G motor? I am also planning on using an ejection baffle, anything I need to know about installation or placement? And as far as glassing the fins, I have seen that some use wood filler and hardener on them. Should I still do that even though I am glassing them?
Thanks for any help.
Kaijah

Glassing the BT is really unnecessary, but especially as the grain direction on those fins is about the worst it could be for strength, I would glass them several times tip to tip (also, if you can, recut them with the grain parallel to the leading edge of the fin).