Any other musicians out there?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RandyM

Reaction score
ok, this has nothing to do with rocketry, but I'm excited so I want to share.

I started playing bass when I was 15 (almost 35 years ago...man I'm getting old) and was lucky enough to buy a Rickenbacker in 1978. I was told it was a 1968 model when I bought it. Played it for many years, but I know it was worth more than average, so I started gigging with my "cheaper" basses. I haven't played in quite some time, but my son is starting to get interested in playing now. Got out the 68 to play in in order to give him some lessons, and was curious to find out more about it so I ran the serial number. Hard to believe, but it's really a 1964 4001!! :D:D:D:D

I've been posting on a Rickenbacker forum and it sounds like this bass is really rare and could go for as much as $10k. I paid $325 for it in 78! I wish rocket stuff would gain value like that.

Here's a pic of it.
DSCF6443.jpg

Very Nice !!!

Also play bass, I have an old Peavy I am redoing and an Epiphoe Les Paul

Here were my 2 pro guitars. Came out of the 60's & 70's. Both were stolen. The Aria Pro II was a sweetheart of a mandolin.

SG Les Paul 2.jpg

SG.jpg

GB Mandolin.jpg

me - musician AND bass player (of similiar vintage too!)

what I've got to say about your bass - ummm..........ah......wha.............................dang!
(that there is something special)

Here's my special Ric - 1987 4003 "Tuxedo" (or Whitestar)

my ric tux.jpg