28mm Estes BullPup 12D

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stizzed

Reaction score
Well, I have decided to try my luck at putting a 24mm in an Estes BullPup 12D. (just 'cause I got one cheap!) :)

Anyone have any thoughts, tips, etc.

I ran it through RocSim and though I am an extreme novice at RocSim it looks like it will work nearly stock. I know that I have to shave back the tailcone but not much else?

Thanx in advance!

Michael

mabey build it strong,paint it bright orange and just use break-apart(nose blow) recovery..or a small streamer for tracking

Originally posted by stymye
mabey build it strong,paint it bright orange and just use break-apart(nose blow) recovery..or a small streamer for tracking
There is an awful lot of noseweight in there to begin with and I'm sure you will need to add more with a 24mm motor. On my Bullpup, even with a streamer, the nose cone (very pointy) comes down fast and buries itself into the ground a little. Mine comes down reasonably fast on a small chute.

Originally posted by BobH48
There is an awful lot of noseweight in there to begin with and I'm sure you will need to add more with a 24mm motor. On my Bullpup, even with a streamer, the nose cone (very pointy) comes down fast and buries itself into the ground a little. Mine comes down reasonably fast on a small chute.

So maybe extra weight and a small chute instead of stock weight and a streamer?

Thanx!

Michael

I put a 24mm mount in mine. Using a D12 I had to increase the nose weight from the stock 14 grams to 40 grams. That gives you a margin of 1.62. Goes like a rocket! A 12" rip stop chute brings it back nicely.