3D Printing 1010 Rail Buttons/Launch Lug Combo

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Very cool idea! Do you print it standing up? Supposedly that would make it stronger because you're not pulling layers apart?

What are you using for attachment through those teeny holes?

Oliver

Thanks, Oliver. I printed them laying down, making the layers verticle so they wouldn't tear off (and removed the need for supports). We used JB Weld epoxy to hold them on. The holes are designed for the epoxy to squeeze up though, making a better bond interface. I have no idea if this is practical or not since I am new to launching off the rail. I typically screw and glue my buttons on and I haven't had any issues but we'll have to see where this goes. I would only put this on MPR like a Big Red Max or similar. Just like everything else I do in rocketry, I plan, design, then send it (hoping it doesn't catch on fire).

Today, I finished my Balerion scratch rocket with rail buttons. Just have to throw the chute on it tomorrow. I also helped my 16-yr old son prep his BRM, "Imperial Max". He's been gone for the last 4 days, and way behind so I threw some paint and decals on it. He was overjoyed. We'll be testing the new camera mount tomorrow as well. I went to HobbyTown and spent waaaaay too much on motors, and bought my 11-yr old an Estes Blue Origin.

The family is pilgrimaging to Hartsel, Colorado for the Colorado Tripoli launch. Ah yes. Trapped in a car for 5 hrs with the family. If I stop posting, you know I ran down the street for a pack of smokes and some Scratchers... 😜

imperial_max.jpg