Estes - Rubicon Gallery

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I have a Rubicon too and I think its a good flyer. The fins are another issue. They've all popped at least once. So far I've used Tesor's plastic cement, liquid cement, CA, epoxy, MEK and probably a few others. They still pop. I think its part of the design. You can tell a counterfeit because the fins don't pop.

My TRF thread is here: https://www.rocketryforum.com/showthread.php?t=456

And the albums are here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/23694991@N03/collections/72157607433351824/

I too opted for a fairly traditional paint scheme. It was an early effort and painting those tubes after installation taught me a lot.

transfer 027.jpg

transfer 036.jpg

painted.jpg

I started painting today prior to assembly. Would love to know how you fastened the fins w/out them popping off.

Here is my Rubicon. I did a review of it on EMRR back in 05

Rubicon01.jpg

Last edited:
And why haven't we seen this beauty at a launch, hmmmm?????;)

It's sitting in the to be fixed pile. Last time I flew it, It pop off almost all the fins and some of the nozzles. I'll fix it up and bring it out the next time I take the trek to PA.

It's sitting in the to be fixed pile. Last time I flew it, It pop off almost all the fins and some of the nozzles. I'll fix it up and bring it out the next time I take the trek to PA.

That's how you know you have the genuine Estes product and not some cheap knockoff!:cyclops:

Here's mine...need to get some launch shots. Nice and slow on E9s.

DSC03534.jpg

Finally flew my Rubicon, and yes, I popped 2 fins. My paint was close to stock, but I was out of grey when I was painting the tubes prior to assembly, so I went with black. I also put in 3 D-shaped baffle plates at the forward end of the motor tube so that I wouldn't have to use wadding by the bucketload each flight.

G.D.