What I (think) I've learned from designing and building my first rocket. Thoughts on fin design.

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Senior Space Cadet

Reaction score
I haven't actually launched it, so I'm still learning from this project.
I decided to start with 18mm motors. I think that was a good decision.
Since low powered rockets aren't supersonic, it seemed obvious that I wanted a rounded nose cone, despite not looking cool. I would have thought that rounded nose cones, for 24mm body tubes, would be plentiful, but that isn't the case. I found some balsa ones, that I decided not to use and one superlight plastic one, which I also decided not to use. So I ended up using the shortest pointy nose cone I could find. Estes makes a great rounded nose cone for a larger tube size. Wish they made it for the BT-50.
After toying with the idea of making a minimum diameter (18mm) rocket, I decided to go with 24mm, to make swapping engines quick, clean and easy. I also ended up using the engine mount for attaching my shock chord. So I don't regret that decision.
I went with the recommended minimum body length of ten times the tube diameter. I'm finding that, despite having oversized fins, I'm having to add a lot of weight to the nose cone to get stable flight. On my next rocket, I'm going to go with a longer body tube.