What are the effects on rockets from extreme weather?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheSamurai

Reaction score
Here in Idaho we go through both very cold and very warm weather periods. From negative degree temperatures in the winter to above 100 in the summer. I have my rockets in a shed which has no temperature control in it. Is this a problem in either direction?

Thanks in advance!

I'm no expert/authority, but from my experience:

High heat may affect some glues and paints. Epoxies and cyanoacrylates are generally not a problem, but aliphatic resins ("white" and "yellow" glue) can be.

Some older forms of "BlueTube" and similar airframe materials were known to swell in high heat. This has not seemed to be a problem with the later generation stuff.

If you tend to use masking tape or something similar to tighten airframe/nose cone fits and such, don't leave it on when you store at high temps - it will get sticky and gooey.

There is little to worry about with just temperature extremes - the real thing to be concerned with is temperature extremes coupled with humidity problems. Just cold will likely not harm anything, but cold and wet can cause all kinds of problems. Same goes for higher temps along with high humidity. As long as your shed is dry, and your rockets are stored dry, I doubt you will see any problems.