Basic Simulation Project to get started with a Solid Propellant Rocket

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vicknesh

Reaction score
Hello all, I am very new to the domain of amateur rocketry and I have recently joined a university team to build a model rocket that is to be run using Solid Rocket Motor.

So now I am completely confused on even how to start and I had read through a few of the previous posts and discussions in this forum to help me but I don't think I got what I needed. Plus to get us started and the entire team being very new to this type of thing, almost all of us are quite confused about how to start. So the basic task that we started with was to do a trial design of a Solid Rocket Motor and we had chosen APCP as the propellant. Now the task was to simulate using a program written in any language, the process of what happens during the static test. We were told to simulate the thrust vs time curve, the impulse curve over time, and then the pressure within the combustion chamber with respect to time. I think this was a very basic task to get us started but I have no idea how to start.