Thrust Plates: When and Why?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Banzai88

Lvl 2, Wallet..even more destroyed
TRF Supporter
Reaction score
This spring I'll be launching 75mm motors in a legacy MadCow DX3 XL (4" fiberglass with a 75mm motor mount), and will probably be venturing into one of Wildman's 5" or 6" offerings by this fall and I got to thinking about thrust plates.

I've never used one before, never felt that the materials used and assembly techniques in 54mm motor powered rockets (cardboard or fiberglass) weren't going to be up to the task of even the hardest hitting of motors, but I have no experience with 75s+.

When do you consider that a thrust plate is unnecessary, a good idea, or mandatory?

I see that MAC makes some, and Apogee sells SC Precision. I'm guessing from the dearth of offerings that they're not that big of a 'thing'?

Please educate me with your thoughts.

I’ve been thinking about the exact same question this week. I just purchased a 4” X-Celerator from Mad Cow, and I’m thinking about upgrading it to 75 mm and reinforcing the fins with tip-to-tip CF.

The kits I’ve built from Binder Design came with a plywood thrust plate, and I saw that Mach 1 sells a 4”-54mm FG thrust plate. I also kicked around the idea of 3D printing one from a durable material like Nylon.

At present, I‘m leaning towards the aluminum plates from SC Precision, but I’d like to hear what others have to say.

I’ve been thinking about the exact same question this week. I just purchased a 4” X-Celerator from Mad Cow, and I’m thinking about upgrading it to 75 mm and reinforcing the fins with tip-to-tip CF.

The kits I’ve built from Binder Design came with a plywood thrust plate, and I saw that Mach 1 sells a 4”-54mm FG thrust plate. I also kicked around the idea of 3D printing one from a durable material like Nylon.