Simple GPS Tracker?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
How about the MEW Crystal Ball GPS system?

It's designed for rocketry, Tripoli approved for records, and needs no Amateur Radio license. No cell phone coverage, no APRS network, just the rocket, your smartphone and a small ground radio.

It also answers Troj's problem with not having enough hands - you view the map on your smatphone/tablet/whatever over Bluetooth, while the radio sits on the dash of your chase vehicle (or your back pocket).

I've seen it in action. Very solid, no dropouts, it just works.

All the best, James

All the best, James

Your idea sounds very similar to the gps tracker I'm working on, however I plan on using bluetooth as the final link to the phone because I'm not a software engineer and I hope to leverage a lot of the stuff developed by the diy drones guys for their ground control stations (gcs). they have gcs sw for all sorts of different platforms, including android.

Derek, if you're willing to pay for a BT shield and like DIYDrones stuff, you may as well use their boards as is and forgo the trouble of building this stuff and programming it yourself. Stuff an ardupilot with their radio into your rocket, and you have a license-free system ready to go that reports GPS, air pressure, accelerometer, etc., in real time and logs all of this stuff as well.

Ari.

It's designed for rocketry, Tripoli approved for records, and needs no Amateur Radio license. No cell phone coverage, no APRS network, just the rocket, your smartphone and a small ground radio.

It also answers Troj's problem with not having enough hands - you view the map on your smatphone/tablet/whatever over Bluetooth, while the radio sits on the dash of your chase vehicle (or your back pocket).

All the best, James

It looks nice, but $1000??? :shock:

How hard is it to get a HAM license for the 70cm band?