Recovery wadding

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bart

Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I'm new to this game and I have a question. How much recovery wadding am I supposed to use? The directions say 3 or 4 sheets, but I wind up with singed parachutes. Are there any rules of thumb on the subject? Can too much of the stuff be used?

Thanks
Bart

Enough to block the tube and make a good gas seal, but not so much that it jams the tube at ejection. As important as the amount is how you pack it. It should be crumpled or wadded, but not too much (not made into densely packed balls). A starting point would be to aim to make a lightly packed 1/2" to 1" plug, depending upon the tube size. But how effectively the tube is blocked is just as important. If you can blow into the tube and move the wadding deeper into it, yet you feel no air coming out of the other side, then you have nailed it.

What Mark says is proper..But, there is only so much wadding in the 3 packs, so the 'proper' amount would eat thru the supply quickly..What you could do(I did) is invest 10-12 bucks and get a bale of 'blown in insulation' commonly referred to as 'dog barf'..When you do, you pretty much have a lifetimes supply of the stuff! When using it lightly tamp it in so you have about a layer as thick as the diameter of the body tube..

Make sure you use the insulation kind of dog barf. The other kind of dog barf is generally too runny, makes your rockets soggy and tends to be a little too chunky to be very effective in rockets. Don't ask how I know. :eek:

Make sure you use the insulation kind of dog barf. The other kind of dog barf is generally too runny, makes your rockets soggy and tends to be a little too chunky to be very effective in rockets. Don't ask how I know. :eek:
Yes, but there's usually no shortage of it. :p