Odd fuzz in a table saw cut

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

augendoc

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
I bought some 1/4" pine plywood from Home Depot to make a bracket for the spray booth I am working on. When sanding the cut edges I noticed a lot of fine, curly, hairy strands sticking out of the cut. I couldn't sand them off. I primed the pieces and figured the primer might make them stiff enough to sand off. Before trying the sandpaper I tried a blast of heat from a soldering rework station gun and the little strands shriveled up and disappeared, just like the stranding on a 3D print when you hit it with a heat gun.

I am an experienced woodworker and I have never seen anything like this before. My presumption is the little hairs are probably some kind of polyester or synthetic non-woven material applied to the face veneer during manufacture so it can be handled without falling apart. I do note the face veneer of this plywood was very good quality, but pretty thin.

If anyone knows for sure what this stuff is, please let me know.

Attachments

• IMG_2979.jpeg
    IMG_2979.jpeg
    3.2 MB · Views: 0
I bought some 1/4" pine plywood from Home Depot to make a bracket for the spray booth I am working on. When sanding the cut edges I noticed a lot of fine, curly, hairy strands sticking out of the cut. I couldn't sand them off. I primed the pieces and figured the primer might make them stiff enough to sand off. Before trying the sandpaper I tried a blast of heat from a soldering rework station gun and the little strands shriveled up and disappeared, just like the stranding on a 3D print when you hit it with a heat gun.