novice questions

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jimbooregon

Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm just starting out in trying my hand at scale and can't find how-to detailing technique articles. Lots of the math of scaling and such, but little on technique.
So for instance I have a Peter Alway paint pattern scale drawing of the Black Brant 2 from 2003 and on it he specifies a number of places that there are screws and their number. How does one apply them? Simply dot them on with a marker or paint? I'm starting with the Estes BB2 kit and not sure of the scale it's made to..awaiting electronic calipers to try and determine that. Surely at 1:13 or so scale one wouldn't even see them??
Any advice welcome. I'm starting out with the Estes kit and an ASP WAC Corporal.
Thanks MS in advance.
Cheers

Hi all,
I'm just starting out in trying my hand at scale and can't find how-to detailing technique articles. Lots of the math of scaling and such, but little on technique.
So for instance I have a Peter Alway paint pattern scale drawing of the Black Brant 2 from 2003 and on it he specifies a number of places that there are screws and their number. How does one apply them? Simply dot them on with a marker or paint? I'm starting with the Estes BB2 kit and not sure of the scale it's made to..awaiting electronic calipers to try and determine that. Surely at 1:13 or so scale one wouldn't even see them??
Any advice welcome. I'm starting out with the Estes kit and an ASP WAC Corporal.
Thanks MS in advance.
Cheers
How detailed you want to go with scale is entirely up to you. If you're just building a sport model for yourself, it might be reasonable to just leave those screw heads off. If you're looking to win a contest, or you really do want to go that far, a dot of paint, a tiny round sticker, or a pinhead are all decent ways to include fastener heads on a scale model.