Nike Smoke

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blackbrandt

That Darn College Student
Reaction score
I am not very experienced with MPR, but I have recently built a 4 inch nike-smoke, but I am not usre how much BP i will need. I am using Piston ejection, any tips would be appreciated.

If your useing a AT or CTI reload the amount that comes with reload kit is plenty. Yesterday I flew a Mad Cow Rocketry 4" kit. And just went with the BP that the 3 grain 38mm reload kit had. Most of the time there's no reason to add extra powder. With the piston that will even help more with getting the chute out.
gp

I am using a cluster of an AT E-18, 2 D12' Estes, and 2 Estes C-6's. I am only using the ejection from the E-18. I end up having about 0.8 grams of BP. Is that enough

I am using a cluster of an AT E-18, 2 D12' Estes, and 2 Estes C-6's. I am only using the ejection from the E-18. I end up having about 0.8 grams of BP. Is that enough

?!?!? :confused:

Mixing BP and AP will complicate things as BP "lights" before AP does. This is a VERY unusual mixture of motors...let alone for trying to put a 4" rocket up.

Have you done any clustering before?

Well, I am going to use a comination of a First Fire and flash in the pan...how would you do it?

I have a phobia against mixing AP and BP in a cluster :D

You didn't give us a LOT of specs to go on, but I surmise that if this is reasonably to scale for a Nike Smoke, you'll be seriously lacking in thrust for a safe launch.

To add to that, if the BP's DO light earlier than the "E" (and it's likely that they will...at least some of them...), then you may get a situation where the rocket barely clears the rod and angles over about the time the AP fires causing a very unsafe situation to anyone nearby.