New to the forums-Recovery System Question

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The Doctor

Reaction score
Hello, all.

My name is Trevor Roberts, I live in Houston, and I am currently majoring in Aerospace Engineering.

In addition, I am working as an Intern at the Johnson Space Center.

I have discovered this forum by recommendation of a friend, as a place to discuss model rocketry.

So, to begin my foray into the website, I have a question:

In this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ukORzRakd7Q

How is the recovery system configured in such a large body?

Since there was no recovery system evident, it's just a guess as to how it was configured. Regardless, the system failed to deploy, so there must have been an inherent flaw in the design.....

Looks like he can build but may be a few tacos shy of a combination platter to think a back slide is a suitable form of recovery. Maybe someone should leave a comment with this web address.

I'm not real sure of the point of going to all the trouble of scale detail on a Gemini-Titan and then using a 3-motor cluster.

I will say, it did fly pretty straight for a finless GT design with no "invisible fins."

I would also say I wouldn't want to be in the general vicinity of a rocket made substantially out of metal (including metal nose cones) coming down with no recovery system after a boost on 3 E's.

It occurred to me when he showed the shot of the post-impact rocket leaning up against the back of the van -- if the wind had carried that thing in the right direction, it probably would have punched right through the roof of the van, if not the floorboards as well.