Just a scratch build- Spartan 1.6

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aksrockets

Now with 8% more aluminum
Reaction score
Well, I've been workin' on this little guy for a few days. I've had a bunch of Bt60 parts just lyin' around my house (got a mean machine from my friend) and decided to put some of em to good use. My original intent was to make a Bt60 "Talon" but I started playing around with fin patterns and decided to build something else. The "Spartan" was born. The NC that came with the mean machine is being used as a boat-tail and i'm using another Bt60 NC I had laying around for the pointy end. 3/32in basswood fins. 24mm engine mount.
I'm really liking this design so I'm drawing up plans for a 3in upscale for 38mm motors. Whether it actually turns into a reality is dependent on how much $$ I have.
I'll post more pics as I get more done.
20121025_202203.jpg

Fin can
20121025_202212.jpg

For paint, I was thinking Black and Orange - just because it's October.
Enjoy!

Alex

Wow, that is one awesome rocket!!

Would you mind posting fin templates?? If it's all right with you I would love to build myself one.

Here is the Open Rocket file.
View attachment Spartan1.6.ork
I didnt show the payload section in the photo. Imagine it being 6in longer.

Glad you like the design. I'm flattered that someone else would want to build one.
The front fins are TTW, the tail cone fins arn't.

Alex

Coat of Primer. Basswood finishes real nice.
Well, the cap on my orange broke today. Might go with yellow and black.
20121026_204055.jpg

Alex

Very nice!! Is this one of the ones you were talking about earlier? Looks kind of like a Velociraptor or whatever the thing from Binder Design is...

Yes, it's what we were talking about earlier.