HT Recommendations for BRB

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GregGleason

Reaction score
I'm doing some research on trackers, so I'm really new to this domain.

I'm thinking about the BRB transmitter

What is the minimum handheld receiver or transceiver (or FM scanner) recommended for the 70cm 420-450MHz band?

I'm assuming the minimum would need a connection for a Yagi, is that correct?

Greg

I picked up a Yaesu FT-60R. Never regretted it, even though since then I've seen Rx-only handhelds on eBay for $40 or less. Having both bands and the ability to Tx has really widened my skills as an Amateur, and, it's nice to take into the back country as a "safety net" when going on ATV trips.

LauncherXPRS2012.jpg

I picked up a SMA-BNC adapter at the same time, this with a 3' BNC cable lets me use an Arrow Yagi easily. ...Don't forget to get an Attenuator while you're shopping at Arrow, it really, really helps with RDF.

Actually I do have a regret...I saved some $ by purchasing the FT-60R, and I should have spent an extra $200 and just bought the Yaesu VX-8GR, it's ability to display APRS packets would be making my life much easier now that I'm switching to a BRB GPS.

There are cheaper ways to do this if you're on a budget, I sure the guys that are much more expert at Fox Hunting than me will chime in.

All the best, James

I'm doing some research on trackers, so I'm really new to this domain.

I'm thinking about the BRB transmitter

What is the minimum handheld receiver or transceiver (or FM scanner) recommended for the 70cm 420-450MHz band?

I'm assuming the minimum would need a connection for a Yagi, is that correct?