How to remove tape residue

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lvgdgts

Reaction score
Hi everyone! Noob here.

I was going to register and introduce myself, but I have a problem I thought I should solve sooner rather than later.

I am finishing a build on a 3D Rocketry Lunar Eclipse. I painted it last weekend using Rustoleum Color shift Galaxy Blue. That part came off great! I taped it off with Frog tape to paint the fin inserts and I now have adhesive on the Rustoleum.
mad.png

Does anyone have a way to get that off? I'd sure appreciate any help.
confused.png

Try rubbing alcohol, that's about the weakest solvent that will cut tape glue. Try it on a scrap painted piece first though. Good Luck and let's see a pic when its done. :cool:

+1 on the alcohol. Once I was working with epoxy and had an open bottle of rubbing alcohol on the workbench. I accidentally knocked it over and splashed alcohol all over a nearby rocket. It didn't hurt the enamel paint at all. But definitely test it on scrap first. Whether or not it damages the paint will also depend on how long the paint has had to cure.

And welcome to the forum!

Thanks for the recommendations. I saw a post earlier today where the member had a real mess after using alcohol on a lacquer paint. This is enamel based. It's a unique paint, though and it came out so nice that I don't want to ruin it.

I'll be happy to put up some pics when it's finished.

Use goo-gone. Get it at lowes walcommunistmart also carries it.

Well, I tried the rubbing alcohol. It didn't seem to affect the paint, but the appearance didn't improve either. There isn't a tacky feel, so perhaps it isn't adhesive residue, but imperfection left from peeling the tape back. I may just shoot another coat.

Target, have you used Goo-Gone on enamel?

Not sure I would use GooGone on enamel paint, in fact don`t !