Help with designing a low-power glider?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rocketbuilder

Reaction score
I am considering designing a glider to add to my fleet, and I would like to scratch build it to save $$, as I already have rocket building materials. Can anyone give me some general info on designing gliders? Links would be good too, as I have never done a glider before and I expect there is a lot for me to learn!
I would like to keep it pretty simple; either a glider that pops off a rocket at apogee (like a nose cone, but with no shock cord) which is what I would prefer, or if that is difficult/impractical, a glider with a MMT that just pops out the back with a streamer.
I will use BT-55 and fly it on a C6-something.
Thanks! :)

BG's are funny critters. They cover a wide range of shapes and sizes based on what your trying to do.Big wings fly nice and slow--little wings are fast- delta's fall somewhere in between. Nose mounting one is difficult at best--but doable. Piggybacks make a lot of sense from a lot of points of view and boom toobs are fun and take advantage of the rocket design but tend to be heavy. Thing is, weight is your enemy--so don't go to great lengths painting and finishing the glider..We had a discussion here on TRF not long ago about building a glider and turning it into a rocket or building a rocket and turning it into a glider.in the end it was pretty much a draw-- A glider, glides better--a rocket flys higher.BG's really push the--- give and take --end of our sport and sometimes result in some unique ,out of the box ideas. Personally I like boomtoobs, they give me the rocket look and near performance but I get a glider out of the deal---but maybe a little fast. Like I said--give and take