Good Rocket Designs

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheRocketman

Reaction score
Hello.

This will be my first post on this forum. I am new to rocketry but yet I am very fascinated. Since this is also my first time working on a rocket I will need to construct a design. To aid this process can anyone guide me to some good designs of rockets that would help.

Thank you in advance. Adrian :cheers:

Hello.

This will be my first post on this forum. I am new to rocketry but yet I am very fascinated. Since this is also my first time working on a rocket I will need to construct a design. To aid this process can anyone guide me to some good designs of rockets that would help.

Thank you in advance. Adrian :cheers:

Sounds like you want to jump right into what we call "scratch building." My suggestion is to head on over to Rocket Reviews and check out lots of different designs there and find reviews that indicate what people think of as a "good" flier and go from there. Next, get yourself either RockSim or OpenRocket and start designing. Be sure to hang out here and ask questions. Find a local club and check out their stuff. Good luck!

:cheers:

-Dave

Have you looked at the links to info that are posted in the beginners thread?

https://www.rocketryforum.com/showthread.php?t=539

There is a TON of information to be absorbed there, especially the old Estes stuff

https://www2.estesrockets.com/pdf/2819_Estes_Model_Rocketry_Technical_Manual.pdf

Apogee rocketry has a lot of info packed into their old newsletters which are all available free online at the Apogee website.
Also, there are old rocketry catalogs, kit plans, and magazines at several sites

https://www.spacemodeling.org/JimZ/index.htm
https://ninfinger.org/rockets/rockets.html
https://www.rocketshoppe.com/
https://www.ninfinger.org/rockets/rockets.html