Export rockets into 3D printable formats?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jimustanguitar

Reaction score
Hi guys, newbie here. Jim from Notre Dame / South Bend.

I'm part of a local MakerSpace called The MakerHive ( https://www.facebook.com/themakerhive ) that co-hosts the Midwest RepRap Festival here in town ( https://midwestreprapfest.org/ ) Several of the guys at the Hive are into small rockets, and we'd like to have a 3D printed model rocket competition at the festival in March. We had over a thousand people attend last year, and there were over one hundred 3D printers running at the show, so we think it'll be a hit if we can organize it in time.

Anyway though, as I started digging into designing my own rocket, I discovered cool design programs like OpenRocket and RockSim, and it made me wonder if any of those tools can export 3D models of rockets and their parts for actual manufacturing. A few searches didn't yield any results, so I figured I'd ask the experts!

Do any rocket design programs export .obj, sketchup, or .stl files?
If not, which program's contributors should I suggest this to?

Thanks guys, looking forward to joining more conversations on the forums!
Jim

I'm pretty sure that Rocket Sim can be used create 3d models of a rocket in those formats. You might have to experiment a bit.

Good Luck!