Epoxy for dummies

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rich Holmes

Reaction score
I'm a fairly new builder of LPRs. Most of my building so far has principally made use of yellow carpenter's glue for the adhesive, and it'll probably remain my preferred adhesive for a lot of my work. However I've been dissatisfied with it for some particular uses and have been doing some tests with epoxy to see if I like it better for them.

My question is, what are your best techniques for mixing and using epoxy?

I have some Devcon 5-minute epoxy and some Bob Smith 30 minute. The Devcon comes in a double syringe, which I guess is a somewhat fool-resistant system if you're reasonably careful. But it's very much more expensive than the Bob Smith epoxy... like 4 or 5 times the cost per ounce. And of course, whatever you mix up, you need to use in the next couple minutes. So either you have to waste a lot of it, or you have to mix tiny quantities of it, which seems to me to be courting large relative errors in the mixing ratio, even with the syringe.

On the other hand the Bob Smith is cheaper and in the case of the 30 minute variety gives you more time to use it after mixing. But you do have to dispense equal amounts from separate bottles. If you are mixing up a large enough quantity, measuring out equal amounts isn't too much of a problem. But what if you're just, say, installing one BT-60 coupler? The amount you need is tiny, and once again, accurately getting equal tiny amounts of resin and hardener seems challenging.

So how do you do it? Do you mix up a lot more than you need and waste most of it, or do you have tricks to accurately dispense small (say enough for one BT-60 coupler or so) quantities?