Designing a Rocket for a (considerably) High Altitude Flight

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SuperNova-Rocketry

Reaction score
Hello Forum, Its my first time posting on here as I really needed help with a few aspects of my team's next rocket. Our previous rocket has just been finalized today and will be launched later this week. We are hoping that by the time we begin building our next rocket we will have accumulated some funds, either by sponsor or crowdfunding.

The goal of our next rocket is to hopefully fly above 10 km and footage during the process. The issue is that I am struggling to design the rocket itself to reach these requirements. We were hoping to use fiberglass for the body, and either a 3D Printed or Aluminium CNC machined Nose Cone. This is the base version of the rocket (It has no internal components as we wont design those until we have a solid groundwork which the parts can be based around.
1708367918756.pngAs you can see, the rocket has a apogee of 4000 meters, but that isn't enough for the requirements of the rocket. We have been working on low-altitude rockets (Under 5km) for a while now and me and my team really want to push further to develop for the Space shot we would like to attempt in around 4-5 years time. The rocket is based around the K1440 Cessaroni motor and I wanted to see if anybody could tell us how we could be able to make the rocket go higher, I have already reduced drag as much as possible and made the rocket to a suitable weight which would help it keep momentum. Are there any other ideas?