Compound motor.

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tan

Reaction score
I was wondering if anyone has experimented with using in the same motor different types of propellant arrangement. If the core of the motor was APCP and the outer half be candy propellant!
The APCP would give the initial fast burn and high blast off speed and the candy would take over with its longer burn!

Sorry if I am not using the correct technical terms as I am very new to this!
:sigh:

There are dual thrust motors, where one grain is extremely fast and the rest are slow, like the Aerotech K375: one grain of Warp-9 and the rest are White Lightning.

There are dual thrust motors, where one grain is extremely fast and the rest are slow, like the Aerotech K375: one grain of Warp-9 and the rest are White Lightning.

Additionaly there are taylored grian geometry using the same propellant to provide boost sustain using the same propellant... https://pro38.com/products/pro54/motor/MotorData.php?prodid=2772L640-P

For instance, if you had a 4 grain motor that has a neutral thrust curve... take the top 2 grains, and double them to 4 grains... now you have 4 grains at the top and 2 long ones at the bottom.
this requires a propellant that is forgving to the drop in chamber pressure, and needs to burn stable across the varying KN.

Probably better odds at gaining success with the same "genus" of propellant. I wouldnt go as far as to say it wont work , but would be darn difficult to make work.

Is that how the L640 works?

Somehow I doubt that that simple geometry change can produce such a marked dual-thrust step. Short grains would normally regress, but the boost part of the thrust curve is clearly progressive. Plus there's the oddity that the L640 has more impulse than the standard 54/6GXL Classic...

Is that how the L640 works?