Cluster Ignitor Confirmation

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DirkTheDaring

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
I had a very bad cluster day a couple of days ago. I'd like a launch controller that can confirm that all the ignitors are connected.

NOTE: I'd like this thread to focus on confirming that all connectors are electrically connected to the controller, rather than all the many other factors involved in successful clustering. I'm aware that there are many other threads about clustering, but it's time consuming to work my way through them all.

I'm not an electrical engineer, and I don't play one on TV. According to my trusty multimeter the resistance of an Estes ignitor is just too low to be a reliable measure. (In series more ignitors would have a higher resistance, in parallel, lower.) In series, you'd be able to tell if all were connected, but generally parallel is the recommended approach.

Other than separate leads for each ignitor, does anyone have any ideas for a controller that can confirm that 2, 3, or 4 ignitors are firmly connected?

PS I built my own cluster whip and I use toothed alligator clips rather than flat (a personal preference), but it seems even when I try to be super careful I still mess up often enough to be an issue.

I'm open to any ideas, thank you.

In order for a controller to do what you want you would need a four wire connection to remove the variability introduced by the connecting wires. I have never seen anyone build a launch controller that way.
When I am feeling paranoid about clusters (usually) I pull out a four wire resistance meter with a 2 Ohm range that I built. Cheaper than commercial igniter testers but works just as well. I can easily spot shorts and opens.