Chuffing

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
A few weeks ago one of my composite motors ignited and chuffed. One of the chuffs lifted the rocket off the launch pad and rod. The motor then fully ignited while it was hanging in the air unguided. It veered sideways and ejected on the ground.
The same thing happened to a friend today.
So my question is:
1. What causes chuffing? In my case, I KNOW the igniter was fully to the front of the grain. And for larger rockets I use either an AT interlock controller hooked up to a 12 v. LiPO battery OR an Estes Command Control launch controller at 14.4 volts. So it cannot be insufficient voltage.
2. How can chuffing be mitigated? Or is it just something that happens on occasion and has to be coped with?
Thanks for your input.

Last edited:
I'm not an expert. @prfesser But the propellant most famous for chuffing is white lightning.
When you ignite it you need to get enough heat into it for it to get up to pressure and remain there. As the pressure increases the burning rate increases until it will self-sustain and woosh leaves the pad. If it's not ignited properly, it almost comes up to self-sustaining pressure and burning rate but not quite, but then starts again. During this time the delay charge may be burning, or not, you won't know till the end.
Older grains are particularly susceptible to this.
If you use a reloadable case, as you are assembling you can augment the ignition with a slice of blue thunder at the top of the slot or added to the ignitor in bigger motors.

In a G64, I use a slice of compressed black powder from an uncased C6. (unwind the cardboard) The dark stuff is the BP and the grey section is the delay(don't use)