Camcorder Rocket. Need Advice

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sucka

Reaction score
Ok... first post but I have been quietly reading the forums for a while now. I am fairly new to rocketry. This is my third rocket. A few months ago I found this website (https://www.csh.rit.edu/~soup/cvscam/) and thought this would be a neat idea to try. After several months and many mistakes I manged to get my disposablecamcorder modified and mounted in a estes canadian arrow. I mounted mine a bit different then the website (see picture). I have put alot of time into this so would like to have at least one successful launch.

On to my questions:

1. Parachutes: I hope my attached image makes sense. I am planning on having three chutes. 2 -12" chutes for the nose cone and 1 18" for the main body. They will come down seperate. I decided on two chutes for the cone to keep it from spinning coming down (more stable video). When the nose cone chutes are not deployed, their lines will basically run down the side of the nose cone and tuck into the body tube. I will have to drill holes in the nose cone to attach the chutes and plan on just tying them with knots. I have standard estes chutes from my last project. See any problems with this plan?

2. will my buttons and camera mirror affect the trajectory alot?

3. my total weight is about 300 grams with the engine. The weight of my nose cone is about 130 grams. I am planning on using a D12-3 engine. Will I make it off the ground? How high do you think it will go?

Thanks for you help! Very cool forum.

Hello welcome to TRF but sorry i cant help you because i dont have experience with that

I suggest you download free software from here https://www.wrasp.com/ and put in all the details of your rocket the wheight what motor your using etc and it will tell you how fast and how high it will go