Balsa free rockets

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MaxPayne

Reaction score
I am new to making model rockets.
I am unable to get hold of any balsa wood for the fins or the nose cone. Would it be fine to make a paper nose cone and simply paste the shock chord in its inside, omitting the 'screw eye in balsa coupling' part?
Are cardboard fins a fine choice? I could use thin plywood but that would become too heavy for a small rocket.

Hi,

You can find balsa for fins here :

https://www.rocketarium.com/balsa.html

Cardboard may work, for very small rockets. Thin plywood may work, depending on the size of the rocket.

You mention "a small rocket", but that means different things to different people :) Roughly what size rocket will you be building?

Rocketeers have been making rockets with "around the house" materials since the hobby began :)

I invite you to check out some of the paper rockets that we have for free downloads. This will give you an idea of different ways to form cones, tubes and fins, though there are also many other ways (which I am sure you will hear about shortly :) )

Check out the:

CAUTION! Rocket Launch in Progress!

and the:

Midnight Express

as two interesting (and low cost) ways of building a model rocket out of card stock and other simple materials.

Another idea for "fins" is to use tubes. An example of such a fin can be seen on our Long OverDue kit (no balsa other than the nose cone...)

Lastly, if you want to purchase fin stock we have a full selection here.

Good luck and have fun!

jim

I am attempting to build my first model rocket, and will use a homemade candy motor(coreburner or maybe bates, 2-3 grams propellant).

jfils, I really liked your cradstock plans. They look good for a first timer.

It is absolutely possible to build rockets without any balsa or high-tech materials.