Apogee Quick Change motor mounts vs thru the wall fins

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

William Feldmann

Reaction score
https://www.apogeerockets.com/Build...-Adapters/Quick-Change-Removable-Motor-Mounts
I have plenty of experience with low power 1/4A thru C motors. I have build rockets in the past that used D and E motors. I am wanting to start building some larger rockets (not HPR, yet) and up my game to the reloadable 29mm case motors and just got my hands on a Super Big Bertha kit for cheap. I like the idea of being able to run it on lower power motors like D & E and having the capacity to run on 29mm. I have used 2 up clusters before, but not 3 or 4.

I saw Tim's video about this motor mount randomly while searching for a different video of his and like the idea, but then I realized that this will totally negate the thru the wall fins. Like period, you cannot use thru the wall fins with this motor mount, at least in a BT80. Maybe something with a 3 or 4 inch tube with a BT80 centered in it would allow through the wall fins and this at the same time?

Anyone use this thing or something like it and if so what did you do with the fins?

Slap a BT60 (1.6") in a BT80 (2.6") that gives you 1/2" on each fin internally for a fillet. Then get a 29mm tube or engine mount kit and put that in the BT60 to fly your larger motor. Get or make a removable D to F adapter for the small motors. That is how I'm making my 2.6" Estes Phoenix clone.

If you build the aspire kit from Apogee, the adapter kit is included as part of the rocket, and you get a rocket. I am inexperienced, but it seems like a nice way to get what you want, and a cool new rocket for under 30 bucks.

Attachments

• 169305058500938701040412629147.jpg
    169305058500938701040412629147.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 0
  • 16930507578236512001960296472504.jpg
    16930507578236512001960296472504.jpg