Any good wind gauges for launch site use?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bill S

Reaction score
I was wondering if anyone knows of an good quality wind gauge for use at launches? I thought it would be a neat item to have on hand at club launches. There are plenty of them on Amazon, but I have zero experience with wind gauges and don't know what would be best for this use.

Sorry but above posted link doesn't work.

I have also thought it would be good to have wind speed and direction at a launch so interested in the wind sensor.

That company is about useless. Nowhere can I find a price for it; all the sites that sell the 50.5 solid state wind sensor want you to contact them for a quote... too much trouble.

I use a cheap handheld I bought on Amazon for about $25, similar to https://www.amazon.com/Anemometer-Measuring-Temperature-Windsurfing-Kite-Flying/dp/B09NQZCWF1 . It can be mounted on a tripod, measures max/min, but doesn't rotate so it only works well if you hold it into the wind or the wind is from a fairly constant direction (say within 90 degrees).

Some people use pole-mounted wind vane type anemometers that are probably more representative of what a rocket sees coming off the rail, when it matters most. But these are less portable and more expensive.

I have been using this one to more than acceptable results, especially when used in conjunction with the Windy app.

HoldPeak 866B Digital Anemometer Handheld Wind Speed Meter for Measuring Wind Speed, Temperature and Wind Chill with Backlight and Max/Min https://a.co/d/04kgiE6

Old School here. Dwyer wind meter. Handheld, reads 2-60 MPH on two ranges, very accurate, and requires no batteries. I have had one of these in my range box for over 15 years, and it still works fine.

dwyer_wind.JPG

You can find these on your favorite auction site.

Goose