54mm motor retainer question Madcow Frenzy

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DirkTheDaring

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
EDIT: Solved! Thanks for all the quick help, much appreciated!

I'm building my first high power rocket. It's a Madcow Frenzy (4" cardboard) that I bought open box kit. It comes with an aft motor retainer (so it won't blow out during ejection), but nothing for the front of the engine (would that be called a thrust ring?). In low and mid-power, no problem, just lots of masking tape for black powder, and the composite engines have a retainer built in. What is the standard procedure for 38/54 mm engines? It also came with a stack of various sized reloads, I haven't taken inventory yet, but it doesn't appear that these have any kind of way of stopping the engine like the mid-power single use engines do. (NB, I have no experience with reloads either.) I'm aware that this may not be the best model for my L1, but it's what fell into my lap.

Thank you.

Last edited:
Not sure I'm following. Almost all high power motors, single use or reload, have a thrust ring as part of the aft end that transfers the force from the motor to the rocket and prevents the motor from flying up through the rocket.