Kevlar Shock Cord Questions

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Woody's Workshop

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
I'm building a BT-80 Wizard with 29mm Engine Mount and I purchased 140 lb Kevlar for the shock cord. This is my first time using kevlar and my question is do you still use elastic a the chute end to absorb the initial sudden decrease in speed upon deployment? I will be using a nylon chute if that makes a difference, and a nomex blanket. I always use snap swivels so changing things is fast and easy.
So at the end of the kevlar I was going to tie a 3 way swivel, chute, blanket & kevlar. Is this a good idea? Or should I just tie a loop in the end of the kevlar. Not concerned with weight at all.
I was going to mount it to the top centering ring on the engine mount, but I decided to put a baffle in it, so I believe the kevlar would then me mounted to the top of the baffle as well?
Thank you kindly in advance.

I'm building a BT-80 Wizard with 29mm Engine Mount and I purchased 140 lb Kevlar for the shock cord. This is my first time using kevlar and my question is do you still use elastic a the chute end to absorb the initial sudden decrease in speed upon deployment? I will be using a nylon chute if that makes a difference, and a nomex blanket. I always use snap swivels so changing things is fast and easy.
So at the end of the kevlar I was going to tie a 3 way swivel, chute, blanket & kevlar. Is this a good idea? Or should I just tie a loop in the end of the kevlar. Not concerned with weight at all.
I was going to mount it to the top centering ring on the engine mount, but I decided to put a baffle in it, so I believe the kevlar would then me mounted to the top of the baffle as well?
Thank you kindly in advance.

I would use the elastic. Sudden shocks are not a good thing.
The rest of your plan is good. :)

Woody: