Routers - how about this dremel attachement

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KurtH

Reaction score
I am getting geared up for HPR scratchbuilding. I just got a 9" bandsaw, and now I am looking into ways to do tube slotting. I have seen posts indicating people use a router. I do not have much other use for a router but I do have a nice Dremel and I see this on the dremel web site.
https://www.dremel.com/en-us/Attachments/Pages/ProductDetail.aspx?pid=231

Can I use this for slotting something like a blue tube or a heavy paper tube? If so what would the procedure be? drill a hole and then poke the router bit through and push the tube to route out the slot?

If this is not the answer, any other suggestions?

I have little experience with power tools, but I am trying to change that. :D

Based on my experience with Blue Tube, I'm not sure I'd try cutting it with a router. Instead, I'd be more inclined to use a cut-off wheel.

That said, your Dremel with one of the reinforced cut-off wheels (or a diamond wheel) works very well for slotting tube. I've slotted cardboard, fiberglassed cardboard, phenolic, and fiberglass tubing that way.

-Kevin

Depending upon the diameter of your tube, you may not be able to use the fence on much above 2.5" to 3" diameter tubing by the looks of it.
You might be better off with this
https://www.dremel.com/en-us/Attachments/Pages/ProductDetail.aspx?pid=335-01
I have the older version that doesn't plunge, and mostly use it for fin sign making of letters or fine line ingraving.
If you have a drill press, you can fit an arbor and a 4" or 4 1/2" x 1/8" abrisive wheel in the chuck, clamp a straight edge to the table and simply slide the tube on the table of the drill press and let the abrasive wheel cut in.
I haven't done this on rocket tubing, but I have done similar things on my drill press for odd things in my wood working.