mounting shock cord question

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rocketeer Gator

Reaction score
This kit I am building has very limited space to mount shock cord to 54mm MMT inside 2.5" BT.As seen in pix the centering rings are about 3/16" so my thought was to go with a 1/16" cable with loop,drill hole threw top of centering ring,run cable threw the hole and epoxy cable with blocks on end into one of the fin fillets or the side of MMT.

Will this work???:confused2: Or should I just epoxy a nomex cord to the BT in the upper end?This is a fiberglass kit so was worried if epoxied to upper inside of BT it might break away upon ejection after a few launches.

Any ideas or comments needed since I am a HPR noob after all.

THX

Imported Photos 00001.jpg

Imported Photos 00002.JPG

Imported Photos 00003.JPG

Imported Photos 00004.JPG

Sounds like a good plan to me. As long as the cable (stainless steel, right?) is strong enough to take the hardest shock that you expect that rocket to get. Lately I've been using 90 lb. stainless steel leader for some of my rockets, which are much smaller than yours (under 2" and built with paper tubing).

Yes sir its stainless.I'm not sure of the tinsel strength of the 1/16" cable.Was bought off cut to length spool at Lowe's and I looked but couldn't find its rating on label.:confused2:

...drill hole threw top of centering ring,run cable threw the hole and epoxy cable with blocks on end into one of the fin fillets or the side of MMT.