Motor Delay for PSII MDRM

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oberon

Reaction score
I'm just getting into composite motors, and couldn't resist picking up a Mega Der Red Max. I'm building it stock.

Im planning to order a couple of G77/78/79 motors from the LMS series (no RMS cases yet, and I want to avoid HAZMAT fees). I know the bag card recommends 7 second delays for Gs, but that seems awful long for a big draggy bird with a projected altitude around 500'.

I'm considering using the delay tool to drill a 7 down to a 5 second delay when assembling the motor - is that a good idea? What have the rest of you experienced? I know the "right" answer is to sim it, but again being new, don't quite trust my OpenRocket skills yet.

Welcome to the forum!

The MDRM flies to more like 800-900 feet on a G77/78/79, so the 7 second delay should work, although 6 would deploy closer to apogee. Having not used the LMS motors I can't say if drilling the delay is allowed, but 6 seconds should be ideal.

When you are ready to L1 BTW, these fly great on a small H for a perfect flight to around 1300-1400 feet. I've flown mine on CTI H54s twice and launched it on an H133 Blue Streak last weekend for a nice fast flight.

Last edited:
I think a stock MDRM is going to go higher than 500 feet on those motors. It's big and draggy, but I still think its likely to go higher. That said, I think it's probably true that 7 seconds is a bit long. Mine is pretty heavily modified, so it's not a good guide for others. Maybe someone who has flown their stock version on these motors can advise you better.