What do you use for painting your larger projects?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I bought a Wagner paint sprayer a few months ago and used it to paint some cabinets I built. It worked pretty well, so I think I'll try to use it on my next large rocket build. I'm no expert, but it seems to be similar to a spray gun and a compressor--but it's all in one convenient unit.

View attachment 532561
I look forward to hearing about how it works out. I've always been curious

I bought a Wagner paint sprayer a few months ago and used it to paint some cabinets I built. It worked pretty well, so I think I'll try to use it on my next large rocket build. I'm no expert, but it seems to be similar to a spray gun and a compressor--but it's all in one convenient unit.

View attachment 532561
I'm definitely interested to see how this goes.

Thinner or reducer, basic idea the same, make paint thin enough to spray.
Createx's reducers do have other chemical properties. Read their TDS's on what they do and exactly how to use them. The TDS's are on the web page of the link I posted.

I used to have issues with rattle cans spitting/clogging, but saw a post here on TRF about a shaker that you could put into your drill and really give the cans a good mix (it was even endorsed by Adam Savage - Mythbuster), but it did have its drawbacks…mainly the connection between the shaft and the base of the cylinder, but then someone else posted a hack to make your own from a piece of pvc pipe a plumbers plug…it works great, but I would recommend replacing the bolt that comes with the plumbers plug with a grade 8 bolt…the grade 5 or less that comes with the plug will bend and throw the whole thing out of balance horribly…

Attachments

• F865C8A1-BB67-4B0C-8E5D-D7BC66FF367D.jpeg
    F865C8A1-BB67-4B0C-8E5D-D7BC66FF367D.jpeg
    1,022.1 KB · Views: 0