Video: A Physics Prof Bet Me $10,000 I'm Wrong

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Sign of the times. A PhD making more money on You Tube videos... than in industry or traditional academics.
Well... traditional academics was never a path to making a lot of money.

Having a Youtube channel with millions of subscribers, on the other hand... it's like being the star of a popular TV show.

Sign of the times. A PhD making more money on You Tube videos... than in industry or traditional academics.
On YouTube, it’s about how many views they get, not the degree. He clearly puts in a lot of work and it seems like he molded himself perfectly for that job (rather than research), just as YouTube was beginning.

Some of that might be clickbait. I'm an engineer and a wanna-be engineer on youtube posted an open invitation for someone to prove him wrong for $10,000. I proved him wrong but never received a check.

Logically it doesn't make sense to me that you can have an object go faster than the wind blowing it... especially given friction in the system, but there were bigger brains here than mine and probably some factor I'm missing.

Also the treadmill negates the need to gain momentum necessary to accelerate an object.

So this is actually better than perpetual motion? 🤔

Logically it doesn't make sense to me that you can have an object go faster than the wind blowing it... especially given friction in the system, but there were bigger brains here than mine and probably some factor I'm missing.

Also the treadmill negates the need to gain momentum necessary to accelerate an object.

So this is actually better than perpetual motion? 🤔