Returning to Rocketry as an Adult

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

laizalott

Reaction score
I have been lurking in these forums for a few months after making an account (so I could see photos), but have yet to introduce myself or post anything really.

My name is Lydia and I have been flying building and flying rockets for a couple of months now, after visiting the Space and Rocketry Center in Huntsville around my 40th birthday. My boyfriend and I basically bought and built every rocket kit available from the local Hobby Lobby afterwards, then moved on to the Internet to get some nice medium power kits like the Estes Mean Machine, Estes Der Big Red Max, Apogee Katana Jr, and Apogee Quick Draw.

We've had a lot of failures, but thankfully even more success. Most recently I completed a LOC Goblin 4" and am planning to do my NAR Level 1 cert flight with an H100 DMS at a club in Huntsville in mid-October. While waiting for that, I bought a BT-60 dual-deploy kit from Apogee and converted my Estes Hi-Flier XL to dual deploy, using the Altus Metrum Easy Mini taken from my Katana Jr...The Katana no longer needs it, since after my final launch I lost the rocket for 24 hours, and the overnight rain absolutely destroyed the tube and e-bay paper...but it was still beeping out the max altitude when I found it! :)

As of today, I have 3/4 successful dual-deployments under the belt (even losing the rocket is a success if both chutes came out, right?). The one failure being my first flight where I forgot to turn on the Easy Mini...the rocket still deployed the drogue, and was thankfully undamaged, but oh man did I feel silly when I realized I had done that. Checklists FTW.

So yeah, that's me. Hope to meet some cool rocketry folks in person next month at that club launch.

Attachments

• 20230831-All-Rockets.jpg
    20230831-All-Rockets.jpg