Psyche Glider Build Thread

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

awseiger

Reaction score
Hello All... Figured I'd post a build thread of the glider I'm building. This is my first attempt at a rocket glider, so if you have any comments\suggestions\criticisms please feel free. I've named it Psyche because this is the ancient greek word for "butterfly". At least I think. I usually name my rockets after the horses of greek heroes, but I feel as if something graceful like a glider doesn't deserve such a name.

At the moment I've already shaped the main delta wing and the rear vertical and horizontal tails. They're all glued on, and I'll check to see how well it flies tomorrow... Wind tunnel (Aka big fan and some string) tests show that it should fly quite nicely.

IMG_0543.JPG

My idea is to have the central pod stick out a bit from the rear, and hold my elevator down. This would omit the need for fragile hooks, which is always nice. Of course, I have left the elevator off for the moment, because I'd love to get it flying nice without it. The less moving parts, the smaller the opportunity for mechanical failure.

The central pod will take 24mm motors, I'll build it to take an Estes E9-4. Of course, this means I could put one of those Aerotech 24mm F's in there, but then my precious glider may just fly off into the sunset.

The problem is.... that if you dont have a elevator, then nothing will make it want to come out of a dive...... This happened to me, BAD... Mine crashed hard.
Is there any dihedral to the wings? Some will make it fly better, How long is the wingspan and length? A bright color will also be good to see in the sky.
What is the diameter of body tube? Bt-60? Also, whats the nose cone, I've not seen the shape of one like that.
Also, a smaller engine is good so it doesnt go high and get lost.

Nice build, I like it.