playing with my ebay

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jlnel

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
Well, i want to do my l2 sometime soon and sitting around deciding on what to build.

Still not sure but i started playing with the electronics stuff and had a pre made one and a pair of stratologgers so this is what i have, looks good i think...

The bulkheads were for a 3" i think so i have to modify the ones for whatever rocket i end up going with.

Im still deciding on single or dual deploy, single with cable cutter or similar, a single alt or dual... its going to be a cert flight so i know i should keep simple but...

I have a question about the standoffs, they are small nylon ones i got from apogee, will they hold up to the loads from a j-k motor?? Or is there a better alternative?

Thanks for viewing!!

Attachments

• 20181101_174122.jpg
    20181101_174122.jpg
    51.6 KB · Views: 118
  • 20181101_174101.jpg
    20181101_174101.jpg
    105.6 KB · Views: 117
I got bored and drilled out a couple bulkheads, i want to redo them as i drilled slightly off center but good enough for a mockup.

Attachments

• 20181101_181930.jpg
    20181101_181930.jpg
    114.9 KB · Views: 60
  • 20181101_181915.jpg
    20181101_181915.jpg
    95.4 KB · Views: 67
I have a question about the standoffs, they are small nylon ones i got from apogee, will they hold up to the loads from a j-k motor?? Or is there a better alternative?

Thanks for viewing!!

I have used the same standoffs on the same altimeters on flights pushing past Mach 2 and 45 Gs and in one rocket it has 13 flights on it with 10 being over Mach flights. One flight had a partially failed recovery where the rocket hit hard packed dirt from 10,000' AGL on a 12" drogue at somewhere around 50-60 feet per second.