New to TRF and Rocketeering

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Purkeypilot

Reaction score
Hello all, I've been frequenting this forum for about a week now and decided to register. I'm a pilot and certified flight instructor and am obsessed and infatuated with aviation and aerospace. Launched my first rocket in 6th grade (an Estes Alpha, of course...) which was fully successful, though I could never find it in some trees. About 10 days ago, I was at my folks with my family and was talking about the Cosmos and space travel and was remembering my 6th grade rocket launch. Decided to get into it, and I'm COMPLETELY hooked. That same day, I picked up a Estes Hunter's Choice kit. The only recommended engines that were readily available at the hobby shop at the time were some B6-4s, so that night and next day, I built the Magnum Load. Let the carpenter's glue and Loctite epoxy cure for about 6-8 hours and flew 'er with my 3 year old daughter that evening. 2 perfectly successful flight and some of the most classic fun I've had in a long time. A few days ago, I found some 1/2A3-4Ts, A3-4ts and some C6-5s and built the Small Round. Flew it twice successfully two nights ago as well as a third flight of the Magnum with a B6-4 (Didn't run the C6-5 due to wind and field size). No problems so far.

Yesterday, I picked up an Estes Alpha III, Estes 220 Swift, Estes High Flier, and Estes Twin Taser, and will eventually build them. I plan on also building an Alpha, a Yankee and a Wizard. It's an absolute blast and I love everything about it. It's a great hobby, community and is just a great thing overall.