New Member from NJ

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Welcome. I'm in CENJARS (Club Secretary actually) and please feel free to attend. Most of the other clubs in NJ are hit and miss. BARC tries and has a good field, but they often are restricted from flying (thank you Mr. President). But if you are flying smaller sport rockets, CENJARS would be perfect. (check out CENJARS.org) We have a smaller field (limit of about 800ft and G-80 motors), but the members are welcoming and always willing to share knowledge if you have any questions.

MDRA is also a great field to fly at, but much further away. I've also heard good thing about METRA, but again, a few hours away.

Welcome to the forum! I fly with GSSS although admittedly last couple years life has gotten in the way and I've not been able to get to a launch recently. I've been launching there since 2003 and it's a great field for low and mid power. They hold a monthly launch and sometimes very few people show up, other times they'll be a big crowd. I'd encourage you to check it out!

Where in central NJ? I grew up on Kendall Park.

The 2 big ones in the area are METRA and MDRA. MDRA is having their launch this month this Saturday and Sunday at Higgs Farm. Info here....
https://mdrocketry.org/calendar/mdra-esl-298-location-tbd/I believe at least one 200lb rocket will be going up this Saturday.
To call METRA "in the area" is a bit of a stretch. It's not really far, up 287 most of the way. You could make a day trip of it, but kind of a long one.

To call MDRA "in the area" is a really big stretch. If you want to make a day trip of that, prepare to drink a lot coffee on the way home.

Huh? What gives you that idea? (Neil is from northern New Jersey, west of the NYC outskirts.)