Need HELP with making a rocket!

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ayush Chauhan

Reaction score
Hello guys,

I am a student, making a rocket as my project. It's my first time making a rocket so need help! Please could anyone support me with my project? I want to know what material is the best to make a rocket out of that is not very expensive, is strong, and is lightweight. Also, if anyone has like a pdf or something for a step-by-step guide to making a rocket would be very beneficial.

Very Thanks!

Your best bet is to find a store that sells Estes kits and buy yourself a starter set. This will come with at least one rocket for you to assemble along with the launch pad and controller.

The instructions included in the kit will get you ready. You will need to buy some additional items like the motors and recovery wadding.

Your best bet is to find a store that sells Estes kits and buy yourself a starter set. This will come with at least one rocket for you to assemble along with the launch pad and controller.

The instructions included in the kit will get you ready. You will need to buy some additional items like the motors and recovery wadding.
Thanks for replying,
Do you know what is recovery wadding?

Lots of kits are available. You could also make one yourself out of household materials, the rule for materials in the NAR Model Rocket Safety Code is that the materials for the nose, fins, and body must be lightweight and non-metal. Paper, plastic, and balsa wood are common.

https://www.nar.org/safety-information/model-rocket-safety-code/

Thanks for replying,
Do you know what is recovery wadding?
Recovery wadding is a flame retardant treated paper product designed to prevent the hot gasses and flaming propellent bits of the ejection charge from damaging the recovery device (parachute or streamer).