Modified motors

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thrownthetowel

Reaction score
At what point is a motor classed as modified. Putting masking tape on the casing to make a better fit isn't. But what about welding or epoxying bits to the out side of a casing? It is a modification, but not to the actual motor. So is it legal or what? Or is it classed as Ex?

TTT

I am by no means a lawyer but, my personal opinion considers the permanency of the modification. In your example, I would consider welding a permanent modification and therefore would make the casing EX from that point forward. Epoxying something onto the case could/should be able to be removed, so, I wouldn't consider it altering the case. The RSO would have the final say.

Originally posted by MarkABrown
I am by no means a lawyer but, my personal opinion considers the permanency of the modification. In your example, I would consider welding a permanent modification and therefore would make the casing EX from that point forward. Epoxying something onto the case could/should be able to be removed, so, I wouldn't consider it altering the case. The RSO would have the final say.

I also lay down my "not a lawyer" disclaimer here, but since this is kind of a grey area matter I'll pitch my best opinion.

I would say "not an EX modification." The purpose of epoxying or welding something to the exterior of the case, relative to the example of masking tape for retention purposes, would lead me to believe that the modification is done so for retention purposes and not for the purpose of achieving an effect from the actual propellant grain. I would think that so long as the forward and aft ends are not interfered with or modified in any way to alter the flow of thrust or ejection, or make for an unsafe situation, that the physical modification (not alteration) would not make it any different.