Mobile open rocket?

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NTP2

Reaction score
I have an idea openrocket for IOS and Android. It would not have the design capabilities just sim you could use your files from your PC (maybe cloud) so you can sim a flight at the range.

This is a dream for a lot of people, including myself. However, it would be a very large effort to make it happen.
I am not an expert in programming but I know a little about it. I would think that you would just take the core sim code and make a phone friendly interface?

I am not an expert in programming but I know a little about it. I would think that you would just take the core sim code and make a phone friendly interface?
The word "just" is doing an awful lot of work there. Everything after "just" is a large effort.

There was an Android version available a few years back. It was glitchy on my phone and I was never able to use it.
The Android port has been abandoned for a while and I imagine it'll take a lot of work to get it running again.

If anyone wants to do any of this by all means go for it, but don't be fooled into thinking that it'll be quick and/or easy. If someone really wants to work on OR in some capacity then I personally would prefer that they start by jumping in to help with the mainline app, rather than getting lost in side projects like this.

The word "just" is doing an awful lot of work there. Everything after "just" is a large effort.
THIS. SO MUCH THIS. It drives me crazy when non-engineers or non-programmers or non-whatevers say, "Why don't you just..." thinking they have an easy solution to a complicated problem.

THIS. SO MUCH THIS. It drives me crazy when non-engineers or non-programmers or non-whatevers say, "Why don't you just..." thinking they have an easy solution to a complicated problem.