Min Diameter Motor Retention

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ac2fv

TRF Supporter
Reaction score
IMO, if you can stand the weight, those AeroPac retainers along with a set of extensions look really good ...

OTOH, I am old and set in my ways and masking tape is a lot lighter :)

Kidding !

I am studying all the Min Diameter threads I can find to decide the same thing for a pending 38mm min diameter rocket followed by a 29mm version.

-- kjh

p.s. The only thing I've seen that might be better is @Adrian A's home-made gadget made from two pipe-testing plugs ...

This is one Link: Violent Agreement: Two Stage 38mm to 33,290 feet but I know I've seen a picture of his gadget here on TRF

I'm gather the materials etc for my first MD build, the Loc 1.63. I saw this product on the Apogee website which looked simple for a first timer to use for motor retention. I'm sure there are pros and cons, but for a first time build, is this a good way to go? I'm not a fan of friction fit.... thanks!

https://www.apogeerockets.com/Build...eter_Retainers/38mm_Minimum_Diameter_Retainer
That would work, but you are permanently limited to one motor casing length. This is because its epoxied inside of the rocket. Also, it looks like you need tapped forward closures (plugged, no motor eject). And i don't think it would work with casing spacers.

You may be able to use different lenght of threaded rods for different casings.

That would work, but you are permanently limited to one motor casing length. This is because its epoxied inside of the rocket. Also, it looks like you need tapped forward closures (plugged, no motor eject). And i don't think it would work with casing spacers.

You may be able to use different lenght of threaded rods for different casings.
Yes, Apogee sells threaded extension rods at various lengths for different casings...