Lipo charger

The Rocketry Forum

Help Support The Rocketry Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DragonRocketry

TRF Sponsor
Reaction score
Okay I am new to this lipo battery stuff. I just bought a RTx/GPS Telematics "Navigator" System and they recommend using a Turnigy Nano-Tech Plus 750mAh 1S 70C Lipo Pack. So I found the battery on Amazon but my question is what for charger do I need for these. I looked at a couple different ones but they make my head hurt trying to figure out what will work...LOL

I have a couple of cheap chargers from Hobby King that have been working well for years. They also charge nicads, LIFE batteries, NIMH batteries, etc. The only thing is that you need a 12V power source to run them.

Although there are cheaper brands on the market, the unit I have is the SKYRC B6V2 AC balance charger. It can deal with 1-6 cell (1S-6S) LiPo, Li-Ion, LiFe and other packs. It can be used at home (120V AC) or in the field (12V DC).

It is one of the best rated chargers on the market. So much so that it is also one of the most cloned chargers out there. Which means one needs to be careful when selecting a vendor to purchase a B6V2.

I purchased mine from the Amazon seller Gobanana (Here). It is currently listed for $44.99 which is $5 less than what I paid in 2018. :mad:

Some of the features to look for in a charger:
1. Selectable battery chemistry - You want one than can charge the various Lithium types: Lipo, Lion, Life. Older battery types are usually supported too like NiCD, NiMH, or Lead Acid.
2. Adjustable charge parameters - You need to be able to dial in the charge rate based on the capacity of the cell. A common "gentle" way to charge your battery is a "1C" rate. If the battery capacity is 750mAh, then charge it at 0.8A (my charger rounds to the nearest tenth)